Home » Latest News » D’Ambrosio wins Formula E after di Grassi excluded

D’Ambrosio wins Formula E after di Grassi excluded

March 24, 2016 2:27 pm Category: Latest News, Motorsports A+ / A-
33,000 fans attended Mexico's first Formula E event

33,000 fans attended Mexico’s first Formula E event

Jerome D’Ambrosio was awarded victory in the second round of the 2016 Formula E championship in Mexico City ePrix last weekend after Lucas di Grassi was excluded from the result.

More than 33,000 at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez saw Brazilian Di Grassi cross the line first after 43 laps. However, the Abt Schaeffler car that he used for the first part of the race was found to weigh 1.8kg under the 888kg minimum, and Di Grassi was excluded as a result.

Abt decided not to appeal, which means di Grassi is now 22 points behind championship leader Sebastien Buemi, who was promoted to second place.

“Lucas drove a great race so I feel sorry for him,” said D’Ambrosio. “But I’m still buzzing after the excitement of the podium. It was an amazing crowd and an incredible feeling – so a huge thanks to all the fans who cheered us on.”

Alain Prost’s son, Nico, moved up to third, and the Renault e.dams driver also gained two more points for setting the Visa Fastest Lap.

Defending champion Nelson Piquet Jr suffered a crash in the group stages of qualifying for the race when he slammed his NEXTEV car into the TechPros barrier. “I’m fine,” he said afterwards. “I was pushing to find the limits of the car and I think I found it!”

There was significant damage to the front of the car and with just three hours between qualifying and the race, the NEXTEV TCR mechanics faced a race against time to repair the car and Piquet finished 13th overall.

Next stop is California, with the second round to take place at Long Beach on April 2.

scroll to top